• Do different types of tea come from different plants?

    Sinensis, an evergreen bush, grown predominantly in South-eastern Asia. Harvesting, picking and processing this evergreen bush yields five classes of tea:

    White Tea: Unoxidised, least processes.

    Green Tea: Unoxidised, fired/steamed and finished.

    Oolong Tea: Partially oxidised.
    Black Tea: Fully oxidised.

    Pu-erh Tea: Raw or finished tea allowed to age and ferment.

    From these five classes, thousands of varieties, blends, and flavours emerge and are enjoyed as the world’s second most consumed beverage after water.

  • What is Fair Traded tea?

    Fair TradeTM programs allow workers vote to decide how Fair TradeTM premiums are invested in their community. Our dedicated tea’m sources directly from fair labour gardens ensuring equitable wages and opportunities that allow workers and their families to thrive. Numi is the leading importer brand of Fair Trade (TM) in the US.

  • Why is organic tea important?

    Typically, when non-organic food is purchased, such as produce, people rinse off the dirt, fertilizers and other impurities before eating it.

    Unlike other food items, tea is not washed prior to consumption. The first time tea comes into contact with water is in our own cups, right before we drink it. This means that if any harmful chemicals are used at the gardens, they are released in our cups along with the tea flavour.

    Organic teas are cultivated without the use of chemically synthesised fertilisers, pesticides or insecticides. Choosing organic not only preserves our earth’s resources and protects the health of the farmers, but ensures that what is going into our bodies is 100% natural.